TLC Announces New Board of Trustees

August 09, 2022

The Learning Center for the Deaf, a pioneer in Deaf education and services, has announced its new Board of Trustees.

Kathy Vesey has been named Chair. As retired Director of Gallaudet University Regional Center East, Kathy has served on the Boards of several Deaf organizations, such as MSAD, DEAF Inc., and NE Home for the Deaf. She was also instrumental in developing the Shared Reading Saturday Program in Lawrence for families with young Deaf and hard of hearing children.

Prior to her time at Gallaudet, she was Director of a large Deaf and Hard of Hearing Program in Southeast Massachusetts.

In addition to her role as TLC Board Chair, Ms. Vesey sits on the Finance and Academic Affairs/Facilities Committee.

“It is indeed an honor to be selected to chair The Learning Center's Board of Trustees,” said Kathy. “I look forward to working with my fellow Trustees to build on the important work of this unique organization, ensuring all deaf and hard of hearing children and adults indeed thrive as well as further our roles as innovators in Deaf education, professional training and behavioral and clinical care.”

Kathy replaces outgoing Chairman Ralph Hinckley, who led the TLC Board of Trustees for more than seven years. 

“We deeply appreciate and thank Ralph for his leadership, compassion and dedication to the entire organization,” Kathy said. “Ralph has helped pave the way for the recent growth and success of all TLC’s programs and services.”

Vice-Chair Val Hollingsworth is the Chairman of Hollingsworth & Vose, Co., a global manufacturer of advanced materials used in filters and batteries. He also serves on the Boards of Brooks School of North Andover MA, and of Victaulic Corporation of Easton, PA.

He received his bachelor's from the University of Pennsylvania and holds an MBA from Dartmouth’s Amos Tuck School of Business Administration. Val is a member of TLC Finance and Governance/Nominating Committee.

The new Board of Trustees also includes:

  • Evan Ricker: Treasurer and Chair of Finance Committee; Member, Academic Affairs/Facilities Committee
  • Marilyn Sass-Lehrer: Clerk; Member, Academic Affairs/Facilities Committee
  • Al Santoro: Chair, Academic Affairs/Facilities Committee;
  • Jay Innes: Chair, Audit Committee; Member, Governance/Nominating Committee;
  • Faye Kuo:  Chair, Governance/Nominating; Member, Finance Committee;
  • Shilpa Hanumantha: Member, Academic Affairs/Facilities Committee